Laptop Build: NTFS Resize, First Clean Your Windows

I needed to be able to dual boot my laptop as the VPN client we use “Aventail” is only available for Windows and I would need to be able to log on from home when I am doing out of hours support. The Kubuntu Dapper install caters for this and offers to resize your Windows partition for you.

However when I tried that it failed saying it was unable to resize. I got a similar result when I tried a manual resize using the qtparted partition manager tool.

The reason was when that I had been using the laptop booted in Windows and surprise, surprise it had had some problems shutting down so I had to do a forced power off. This however left the NTFS partition in a non-clean state. As soon as I booted back into Windows and did a full shutdown then the installer resized the Windoww partition no problem. The moral of the story: First clean your Windows.

3 thoughts on “Laptop Build: NTFS Resize, First Clean Your Windows

  1. Thanks for posting this! I have tried QTParted several times(from Kubuntu LiveCD actually) and it failed for me as well. Now I know that the failure is probably due to my bad habit of forcing windows to power down rudely.

  2. I’m glad you found this post useful and it gives me a warm fuzzy glow to know it’s helped at least one person.

    So have you successfully got QTParted to squeeze down your partitions now?

    Regards,
    Simon

  3. Thank you very much for your post, you gave me some missing info i needed for my study

    I have bookmarked your site and hope to see more great stuff coming

    Bye

    Wilco Breek

Leave a Reply

