Radio 4 In Business Programme on Open Source

I just listened to In Business on Radio 4 and it was all about Open Source and how it is revolutionising how IT companies do business.

You’ll have to grit your teeth at the usual bits about Linus inventing an operating system and the more pejorative meaning of hacker being used but it was an interesting programme.

The most telling part for me was an interview with John Powell of Alfresco about the reluctance of UK companies to take on the new idea compared to the US. He speaks of “nerds” getting things in the back door and struggling to get business buy in which certainly chimes in with my experiences.

The programme is available as an MP3 download and there is a feed for the programme as a podcast.

EDIT: I have my good friend Andy Hollyhead to thanks for pointing me in the direction of this broadcast

4 thoughts on “Radio 4 In Business Programme on Open Source

Leave a comment